

Composition of the Board of the Boston Groundwater Trust

The board of the Boston Groundwater Trust consists of 13 trustees. Twelve of the trustees are appointed by the Mayor. Of these, nine are nominated by the following groups:

Gary Saunders, Co-chair, Back Bay Association

Robert Whitney, Co-chair & Treasurer, Beacon Hill Civic Association

Janine Commerford, Secretary, Greater Boston Real Estate Board

Tim Mitchell, Neighborhood Association of the Back Bay

Nick Pittman, Fenway Community Development Corporation

Peter Shilland, Ellis South End Neighborhood Association

Angie Liou, Asian Community Development Corporation

Aaron Michlewitz, North End/Waterfront Neighborhood Council

Beatrice Nessen, Boston Preservation Alliance

All Trustees are appointed for two-year terms but can be removed at will by either the Mayor or the nominating body. Three (3) trustees are appointed by the Mayor ex-officio currently:

Ex-officio, Kat Eshel, Chief of Staff, Mayor's Office of Environment, Energy, and Open Space

Ex-officio, Kate England, Director of Green Infrastructure, City of Boston

Ex-officio, VACANT SEAT

The remaining trustee, City Councilor Sharon Durkan, has been appointed by the City Council President Edward Flynn (2023).

Trustee meetings are held six times a year, generally starting at 4:00 PM on Thursdays and lasting about 90 minutes. Trustees receive all financial information as well as regular updates on groundwater related issues in addition to the information discussed at meetings. Four of the trustees, two co-chairs, treasurer, and secretary, serve as officers and have additional duties.