Boston Groundwater Trust

229 Berkeley St, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02116 617.859.8439 voice – 617.266.8750 fax www.bostongroundwater.org

Mr. John FitzGerald, Project Manager Boston Redevelopment Authority One City Hall Square Boston, MA 02201-1007

Subject: 16-20 Peterborough St

Dear Mr. FitzGerald:

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on the Small Project Review Application for 16-20 Peterborough St. The Boston Groundwater Trust was established by the Boston City Council to monitor groundwater levels in sections of Boston where the integrity of building foundations is threatened by low groundwater levels and to make recommendations for solving the problem. Therefore, my comments are limited to groundwater related issues.

The project is located in the Groundwater Conservation Overlay District established under Article 32 of the Zoning Code. As noted in the Zoning Code Refusal letter from the Inspectional Services Department included in the appendix, the GCOD requirements apply to the proposed building. The zoning analysis included in the SPRA, however, makes no reference to the project's location in the GCOD or applicability of Article 32, nor does it reference plans for compliance. As mandated under the Code, the project will have to include a recharge system of the required size and will also need to furnish a certification stamped by a professional engineer registered in Massachusetts describing how the project will avoid causing a reduction in groundwater levels on the site or on adjoining lots. The site is in area with many wood piling supported buildings, and maintenance of adequate groundwater levels is necessary to preserve the integrity of their foundations.

I look forward to working with the proponent and the Authority to assure that the project can have only positive impacts on area groundwater levels.

Very truly yours,

Elliott Laffer Executive Director

Cc: Kathleen Pedersen, BRA Maura Zlody, BED

Board of Trustees

Gary L. Saunders Tim Ian Mitchell Co-Chairs

Felix G. Arroyo Janine Commerford Galen Gilbert Stephanie Kruel Aaron Michlewitz William Moy Molly Sherden Peter Sherin Peter Shilland Brian Swett Keith Williams

Executive Director

Elliott Laffer