Boston Groundwater Trust

229 Berkeley St, Fourth Floor, Boston, MA 02116 617.859.8439 voice – 617.266.8750 fax www.bostongroundwater.org

March 27, 2012

Ms. Katelyn Sullivan Boston Redevelopment Authority One City Hall Square Boston, MA 02201-1007

Subject: Wheelock College Resource Center Project

Dear Ms. Sullivan:

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on the Institutional Master plan Notification Form for the Wheelock College Resource Center Project. The Boston Groundwater Trust was established by the Boston City Council to monitor groundwater levels in sections of the city where the integrity of building foundations is threatened by low groundwater levels and to make recommendations for solving the problem. Therefore, my comments are limited to groundwater related issues.

I am pleased that the proponent acknowledges that the project is located in the Groundwater Conservation Overlay District established under Article 32 of the Zoning Code and commits to meeting the GCOD requirements. In the IMPNF, the proponent has addressed the two standards that must be met: a system designed to capture the required amount of water for infiltration; and that the project do no harm to area groundwater levels. I appreciate the proponent's commitment to review the infiltration plans with both BWSC and the Trust and look forward to working with them. While the proponent asserts that the project will result in no negative impact on area groundwater levels, this assertion should be backed up by a stamped letter from a professional engineer registered in Massachusetts that demonstrates why it is correct, with particular attention paid to any potential issues with the underground garage.

I look forward to joining with the proponent and the Authority to assure that the project can have only positive impacts on area groundwater levels.

Very truly yours,

Elliott Laffer Executive Director

Cc: Kathleen Pedersen, BRA Maura Zlody, BED

Board of Trustees

Gary L. Saunders Tim Ian Mitchell Co-Chairs

Felix G. Arroyo Janine Commerford Galen Gilbert Nancy Grilk James W. Hunt III Aaron Michlewitz William Moy William Onuoha Molly Sherden Peter Sherin Peter Sherin

Executive Director

Elliott Laffer